What A Difference A Month Makes

Posted: March 14, 2011 in The Roper Files

Been a month since I updated the site; I know, I know…I’m a negligent father. But I’ve been busy; doing this, doing that…the damnedest things occupy my time these days. But life can be that way; hard to focus on the big picture when I allow myself to get distracted by the little things. Lately my life has turned into a pattern of work, running around after work getting odds and ends I need around the house, showering, eating, Internet and sleep.

 

Thirty days ago North Texas was in a deep freeze; temperatures hovering around zero for a week at a time. Yesterday I was cleaning my apartment wearing shorts; that’s what life in Texas can be like for you right there in a nutshell. Wearing thermals one days and then digging out the shorts the next week. 76 degrees and uncomfortable in my comfort while watching the Japanese suffer a shitskrieg of misery in the form of earthquakes, aftershocks, a nuclear power plant not working in accordance to plans, tsunamis and even a couple of volcanoes erupting as if everything else wasn’t screwed up enough. Japan is reeling under their worst disaster since WWII and I’m watching it on TV while running a Swiffer over my hardwood floors.

Haven’t updated the site mainly because I didn’t want to bore you with the mundane day to day details of my humble existence. But there are a few bright spots in the distance; will be posting with more details soon here…

Comments are closed.