Update! 12-22-2010

Posted: December 22, 2010 in The Roper Files

In my last entry I blew my own horn a bit about sending a Christmas present to a five-year-old; damn if I ever do THAT again. Got taught a hard lesson ; the package disappeared in transit and when I attempted to track it, it vanished off the radar soon after leaving Fort Worth and according to the USPS website didn’t even make it to Customs. Goddammit! 

Never in my life have I been so frustrated; so much for my good deed. I packaged the toy so it could withstand anything short of getting run over with a forklift. Wrote the address legibly on the box with a black Sharpie and took my time filling out the Customs forms.  As far as I knew I had done everything correctly; I even mailed the package November 29, way before the main Christmas postal rush.

Two weeks went by, then three. “This is bullshit, I thought to myself. It was a small box that weighed less than three pounds; it shouldn’t take this long. Attempts at calling the 1-800 number on the post office receipt were thwarted with pointless voice menus read by a robo-voice. Finally “K:” e-mails me early this morning at 4am as I am brewing coffee half-asleep. The Package has arrived. I certainly wasn’t looking forward to stomping into the Post Office next Monday morning, shoving a picture of her grandson in the clerks face and telling him/her that “THIS is the face of the five-year-old who DIDN’T get what he asked Santa for because of YOUR incompetence!”
We both are relieved beyond words.  It’s The Last Minute; it will cost her dearly to OverNight to the little tyke. But “Santa” won’t be forgetting him this year, and this is a good thing.  

So having said all that, Merry Christmas to the rest of you.

Comments are closed.