AWOL For A Week

Posted: February 5, 2009 in The Roper Files
geese-in-flight
Oh man is it the fifth already? Haven’t updated since Jan.30th; no particular reason other than nothing earth-shaking to report. Work saps me physically and by the time I get home all I’ve wanted to do for the last three days is just lay down.
Of course every time I do, the phone rings on cue just as soon as my head hits the pillow on my futon.
No rest for the weary in this plane of existence.

It’s Thursday morning; I’m sitting here in chilly pre-dawn darkness jacked up on a combination of coffee and Guaifenesin decongestants getting as ready as one can for ten hours on their feet. Man I don’t want to do this but some strange part of me longs to get it over with and out of the way. Not used to this strange sense of optimism but I’ll take it. Check the lottery numbers in the newspaper; they called two of my six numbers on one ticket. Rats; guess I am going to work today.

Eleven and a half hours and two white-knuckle commutes later, this nightmare of “making a living” will be over for three glorious holy sacred days. No one will be happier than myself to see Thursday night; it’s my Friday.

Thank God it’s Thursday.

Comments are closed.