So I Suppose This Makes Me A Paid Writer Now

Posted: January 7, 2009 in The Roper Files
Tags: , ,
jan_6_2009_1
I’ve been writing on a site since November of 2007 called http://www.thisisby.us. You can look it up if you want to but you better do it fast; they’re calling it quits at the end of January 2009.
They say they pay their writers and I’ve taken that with a grain of salt until recently.

Monday was (for the record) the longest day of my life. I had been off work eighteen HOLY day and trust me Monday was an endurance test for me mentally, physically, and psychologically.
Came home and played my daily game of “how many bills are in the mailbox?” when I found a mysterious plain white envelope from South Carolina,

“Who the hell do I know in South Carolina?” I thought to myself. Flicked open my pocket knife, slit the envelope open and a check slides out from thisisby.us INC. Well I’ll be dipped in dogshit…
It wasn’t for much; only $26. Twenty-six dollars?
Okay so I’m not going rich off of this; no delusions on this end. But technically I presume this for the first time in my fifty years makes me a paid writer.
Quit drinking back in 1990 so I can’t walk into a bar and play the Barfly (“For all my friends…”) and buy everyone drinks, unless of course it’s like that bar in the original Producers ( you remember; the one with only one other guy there)

Guess I’ll have to just live with sticking it in the bank…

Leave a Reply

