Morning Has Broken My Spirit

Posted: January 5, 2009 in The Roper Files
Tags: , , ,
true_stories_003a
Today is the first day of my having to go back to work; haven’t been in over two weeks.
Dreading it for a number of reasons; the two-week party disruption only being one of them. Don’t know what I’m going to find when I get there. Wouldn’t surprise me if they’ve put someone who didn’t know what the fuck they were doing on my water jet and broke it. There might be tons of work; there might not be anything to do at all. It could go either way. Really dreading walking in there.

I’ve had a taste of freedom for the last two weeks. A sweet total of eighteen days I could get up when I woke up as opposed to the rude beeping of my alarm clock.
Really enjoyed eating whatever I wanted whenever I wanted as opposed to a regimented thirty-minute lunch break.
Spent mornings watching the sunrise instead of the clock.
Spent quality time on the phone with Kim as opposed to filling out Quality Assurance forms.
It’s been nice to go to the bathroom here as opposed to the unspeakable filthy germ-farm I work at.
Been able to catch up a bit on my writing, although it’s never enough.

Don’t want to go face those slack-jawed slope-browed troglodyte Good Ole Boys I work with. Big Harley-riding muscle-headed tattooed morons who scatter like a barnyard of frightened game hens when they see me struggling to lift something that weighs as much as I do. Gawd forbid you pricks lift a finger to help me…
Don’t want to go have to share the road with those sub-moronic Texas drivers on that Highway Of the Damned, I-35.
Don’t want to spend the day in the suspended animation reality of that dull boring job. Staring at that slow-motion clock that doesn’t seem to move. Can’t wait for the boss to walk around and ask me how my holidays were ( like he cares) and I bite my lip not to tell him: “Wonderful! Until the goddam alarm clock went off this morning and then they turned to shit….”

That’s okay, though. Danged old stupid Irish-American work ethic; why do I do this to myself?
Wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do when I “grew up” as a kid but this sure wasn’t it.

Leave a Reply

