My Obligatory New Years Day Post

Posted: January 2, 2009 in The Roper Files
Tags: , ,
urban-landscape
(Okay so it’s the 2nd; sue me)

New Years Eve is always a painful time of year for me; it’s tough being single during the holidays.
Got through Christmas and New Years Eve both this year without eating a pistol; hooray for me!
Actually though I’m in a better place than I was a year ago; I met someone in 2008 who is very near and dear to my heart so I don’t feel nearly as alone as I did on Jan 2nd 2008.

As the new year begins, I’m a little disoriented. Haven’t been to work in over two weeks; I’m having trouble remembering what day it is without the confining structure of my usual day-to-day routine. Don’t mind waking up at 4 am and reminding myself: “ I don’t have to do this today” right before I roll back over and drift back off to sleep. I have three days of this freedom left before the nightmare kicks back in and I’m not even prepared for that one. What am I going to do?

It’s been a great two weeks; been attempting to get caught up on my writing. Been updating File23 more often and this is good. Also have discovered my verbal tripe has been picked up on another site entirely: www.grantlawrence.blogspot.com where I proudly share space with distinguished writers like Grant, Wisco and Xygent  My post about Green Acres looks SO out-of-place with their mostly political writings, but I’m honored nonetheless. Not like I twisted Grants arm….

In a few short weeks a new president will be sworn in. I do not envy his task of trying to repair the damage done by those two self-serving Oil Patch Babies that have been squatting in the White House for the last eight years. Good riddance to Bush and that dick Cheney is about all I gotta say. Hope they go flying off the face of the earth and the sooner the better.

Five thirtyfive am in the morning here in sleepy Fort Worth Texas. The sun is not up yet; I’m sitting here patiently sipping a cup of Tullys House Blend waiting for it to make its grand appearance. It’s quiet here; the only sound I can hear is the distant roar of cars on nearby I-30. Friday; people are reluctantly stirring and getting ready for their jobs. Miles Davis is playing on my stereo and for the first time in ages I am at total peace with the world. Peace on earth and goodwill towards all men? I’ll settle for that one today; I really will…

Happy New Year Everyone !

Leave a Reply

