Where The Hell Am I?

Posted: October 7, 2008 in The Roper Files

 

Okay you may have noticed I haven’t been posting here much in 2008.

I’ve been posting on another site and have been sadly ignoring File23. But it’s not all bad news. While there I met another writer named Kimberley whose seductive eyeball avatar caught mine and well…one thing led to another. Phone numbers were exchanged; turns out she was living about a three hour drive from my city. Then as suddenly as we first spoke she moved back to her native Canada.

That should have been the end of it, but it wasn’t. I have been on the phone with her almost continuously since Memorial Day; my left ear resembles a cauliflower. We have talked and talked and talked. Usually I’m no good at talking to women; I’ll say something stupid and that’s usually the end of that in short order. Didn’t happen this time; not yet anyway.

 I told her all the things that usually scare off most women: I’m not rich, I hate my job etc. but she still calls me back. Go figure.  

She’s talking about moving back to Texas; in the meantime I have applied for a passport. I’m flying to Canada to finally meet her by the end of the year.  (Borat voice): Look at me; I am international travelling man.

Is it love? Too early to tell; we haven’t had our first face-to-face yet. But she has occupied a long-vacant space in my heart I didn’t know still existed. Life can hold some unexpected surprises sometimes.

Love.

It can even happen to me.  Who would have thought it was still possible ?

more later…

Comments
  1. Jeffrey says:

    Now everything is clear and makes sense. I am so happy for you my friend.

Leave a Reply

