Like An Ancient Runic Rhyme

Posted: February 7, 2008 in The Roper Files

braid_hourglass_1024.jpg 

Another work week gone by. Today will be the longest ten hours of my life, but I will endure; I always do. But Einsteins theory of relativity is bouncing around my head in an insane way this week. Work seems to just drag; stand in front of a machine for ten hours and pretend to be interested. It’s torture I’m telling you and nothing less. Only ten more hours? (moan)

Monday I did ten hours, came home and cleaned the apartment. Then I had to go to the store and get a money order to pay a bill. Go to the post office and deposit the bill in the mail. Then go buy gas. Go get milk. Didn’t eat dinner until 8:30 that night. While sitting in the restaurant I realized I had been up for sixteen hours and was finally just going to have some whatever time of my own. That’s a pretty significant chunk of my waking hours.

Tuesday was more or less the same thing. Ten hours at the job. Race home after work, take a shower and then drive over to my parents house. Dads 70th birthday; thus dinner with the folks. Wandered back into my apartment about 8:00. Once again sixteen hours of doing what others have planned out for me.

It wasn’t until Wednesday night it occurred to me that I spend an inordinate amount of my time doing things I don’t want to do. Why is this? How has it come to this?

OK Rent and bills are a motivating factor to get me to work, but it seems like as soon as I get home the phone starts ringing. Someone wants this. Someone wants that.

People think I have nothing else to do just because I’m single. Being single is like having a second job. I have to do everything: shopping, housework, yardwork, laundry etc.

As I get older it seems my spare time just gets to be scarcer and usually doesn’t happen until late in the evening.

My bed is the escape hatch; crawl in and the world goes away. Sleep; precious sleep.

Spare time with no obligations: priceless.

Leave a Reply

