MD VESSELS by Brian Roper

Posted: June 15, 2007 in The Roper Files

Please don’t kill the messenger…but here’s all the news that’s fit to self-righteously blog… Got up this morning, examined myself. Big golf-ball sized lump downstairs just above my unit. Did a couple of heavy loads of laundry (should I be doing that?) Checked myself out; the lumps still there. Took a shower, changed clothes and went to a pre-scheduled doctor appointment. 

Sit in the waiting room and read an  interview with Bill Paxton in this months Texas Monthly. He drops a lot of names that would only be familiar to native Fort Worth residents. Well I must have gotten way too relaxed, because when the doctor finally put in his grand appearance and I undress the lump has completely gone down; zero swelling.  A frightened turtle.  The doctor gives me this what-the-hell-are-you-wasting-my-time-with-this-shit-for look and tells me he’s sending me to a surgeon. I might have a swollen lymph nodes or it might be a hernia; he’s not sure. Great.I fear this uncertainty with the same exact dread I have of cancer or something otherwise inoperable etc. My previous dealings with doctors have been the same crap; “I don’t know”.  “Never seen anything like this.”  Expensive, pointless inconclusive tests.  Had a similar experience earlier this year with my truck; it kept dying on me when I turned a corner or came to a stop. Took it to a mechanic who kept it for a week. He took it to get car parts, lunch and just generally drove it around for a week ( or said he did ) and couldn’t get it to conk out once. When I went to get it  back, the engine died at the first stop sign I came to.

So I’m feeling pretty much the same way, except this is a little more personal. Nothing to do but wait. And wait.  Great; hope something internally doesn’t bust in the meantime.

Any good news? Well Iggy & the Stooges have a reunion cd out called THE WEIRDNESS and you need to get off your duff and go buy this. Now.

Still breaking the rules by not sucking as bad as most reunion cds, there are some hard rocking tunes and some slow ones ( like the title cut)  Go buy it!

Sat through a documentary the other day called THE DEVIL AND DANIEL JOHNSON, and I’m still going What Was That? I’ve heard his music on various compilation discs before; but his stream-of-conciousness songs exact appeal have kind of eluded me. A compelling documentary with a way-too-short clip of the Butthole Surfers performing Sweat Loaf live ( who I would much rather been watching; where’s THAT documentary by the way?) and footage of Gibby Haines having his teeth drilled. 

Johnsons’ music still to me sounds like what Beck might sound like if severly sleep-deprived, but boy, he “wow-ed” ’em in Austin in a 1990 SXSW show and then shortly afterward commandeered his pilot fathers’ small aircraft into a forest (they both survived) after which he did a lengthy stretch in a Texas mental hospital. He does indeed have a seriously devout cult following however and at one point several major labels were engaged in a bidding war over him. Guess I can recommend him to Syd Barrett or Roky Erickson fans, who his music also sort of reminds me of, and have similar mental histories.

Shouldn’t complain but here goes: it’s raining outside. Not hard; no severe weather, just a much needed steady rain. The temperature has also dropped just enough to turn off that damn air conditioner and open up the File23 Central Commmand Post. So what’s my problem?

Just looked; the bump downstairs is back. Dagnabbit.

BR

Leave a Reply

