THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE by Brian Roper

Posted: March 18, 2007 in The Roper Files

qqq2.png
I found a used copy of Sergio Leones’ THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY for $8.00 last week and I am now compusively watching it over and over. What the Hell?

It’s not like I’ve never watched the damn movie before; back in the VHS days I could get it for free at the local library. Talk about a rainy day movie; it’s 140 minutes long. So why can’t I stop watching it?

It’s become a new addiction; a new obsession. Every image in the film is an indelible tattoo on my brain; the Ennio Morricone soundtrack haunts my subconscious during every waking moment of my day. Don’t get me wrong; I love FISTFUL OF DOLLARS as well as FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE but I think both of those films spend way too much time trying to impress the viewer on how truly BAD their villians were while THE GOOD AND THE BAD AND THE UGLY was the first of the three to give more character to the leads.

Clint Eastwoods’ Man With No Name character kills only deservedly BAD people, while Lee Van Cleefs’ Angel Eyes kills everyone. Eli Wallachs’ Tuco gets to be the first HUMAN villian of the three films. He is a killer, make no mistake; but he is a person with a priest brother, is religious (he crosses himself when he sees a corpse, then goes through its’ pockets) and more often than not a source of the films’ humor. Leone had a great eye as a director; not only do all three of the movies leads have great screen presence but even the bit-part actors all have interesting faces.

The MGM dvd is beautiful. They did a magnificent job of cleaning up the old print. The ones they show on Turner Classics and the Western channel are good too, and that brings me back around to my point.

Since I bought this, TGTB & TU (as it will be typed from now on) has been on cable twice this week and even though I have this on dvd, damn if I don’t drop what I’m doing and watch it all the way through.

TGTB & TU now joins a long list of other movies like MAD MAX, the original TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE etc. that will keep me from getting anything done by their mere presence on cable, VHS or dvd.

Is there a twelve-step group for people like me? I shudder to think of the possible therapy methods. Being forced to watch Adam Sandler movies?

Turn off the phones; draw the blinds! Put the “back in a minute” sign on the door!

The part where Tuco finds the cemetary is coming up!

BR

March 2007

Leave a Reply

