The Lurch/JFK Connection

Posted: November 22, 2007 in The Roper Files

jfk.jpglurch.jpg 

The anniversary of Kennedy Day is upon us. While researching the assassination recently, I turned up with a bit of trivia I had never heard about. Just as I thought I had heard everything strange about this horrible day in history, a bit of oddness has emerged that surprised even me.

Ted Cassidy, otherwise known to couch potatoes everywhere as Lurch on TVs THE ADDAMS FAMILY worked at WFAA, a Dallas TV station during the early 60’s both as a reporter and a voice actor. They have forever used a catchphrase “In the Spirit Of Texas” before and after commercial breaks, and now that I think about it I can remember him saying that for them in his distinctive voice.

When the Kennedy assassination happened, it was none other than Ted Cassidy who interviewed assassination witnesses W.E. Newman Jr. and Gayle Newman. Where ARE these tapes? I want to see/hear them. A search on YouTube and Google video has proven fruitless so far.

Until those turn up here’s this: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6741103875607821823 

BR

Leave a Reply

